

Summons to and Agenda for a Meeting on Thursday, 24th March, 2016 at 12.30 pm, or on the rising of the County Council whichever is the later.



DEMOCRATIC SERVICES SESSIONS HOUSE MAIDSTONE

Wednesday, 16 March 2016

To: All Members of the County Council

Please attend the meeting of the County Council in the Council Chamber, Sessions House, County Hall, Maidstone on Thursday, 24 March 2016 at 12.30 pm, or on the rising of the County Council whichever is the later, to deal with the following business. The meeting is scheduled to end by 1.00 pm.

# **Webcasting Notice**

Please note: this meeting may be filmed for the live or subsequent broadcast via the Council's internet site or by any member of the public or press present.

By entering into this room you are consenting to being filmed. If you do not wish to have your image captured please let the Clerk know immediately.

# **Voting at County Council Meetings**

Before a vote is taken the Chairman will announce that a vote is to be taken and the division bell shall be rung for 60 seconds unless the Chairman is satisfied that all Members are present in the Chamber.

**20 seconds** are allowed for electronic voting to take place and the Chairman will announce that the vote has closed and the result.

### AGENDA

- 1. Apologies for Absence
- 2. Declarations of Disclosable Pecuniary Interests or Other Significant Interests in items on the agenda
- 3. Appointment of Honorary Alderman

(Pages 5 - 8)

Head of Democratic Services



By: Gary Cooke – Cabinet Member for Corporate and Democratic Services

Peter Sass – Head of Democratic Services

To: County Council – 24 March 2016

Subject: Appointment of Honorary Alderman

#### Introduction

(1) At its meeting on 30 April 2009, the County Council resolved to utilise the power contained in Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, to confer the award of Honorary Alderman to recognise the eminent services of some of its distinguished former Members. There is no statutory definition of "eminent services" but the County Council agreed that the award should only be made to former Members who had served at least 12 years and had rendered eminent services in terms of the individual's contribution to the activities of the County Council and the well-being of the County of Kent.

(2) It is proposed that Honorary Aldermen should be invited to attend relevant civic and ceremonial events, including the Annual Meeting of the Council and the Chairman's Civic Reception. The names of those individuals awarded the status of Honorary Alderman will also be included on the wooden honours board in the Council Chamber.

### **Nominations**

(3) The following nomination has been made for this Honorary Award:

Mr Roy Bullock MBE

- (4) The appendix to this report sets out some biographical details about Mr Bullock.
- (5) Members are reminded that, in accordance with Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, the nominees for Honorary Aldermen have to receive the support of not less than two thirds of the Members voting thereon at a special meeting of the County Council convened for the purpose.

#### Recommendation

The County Council is asked to consider Mr Roy Bullock MBE for the award of Honorary Alderman of Kent County Council, as described.

Peter Sass Head of Democratic Services 01622 694002 peter.sass@kent.gov.uk

# **Nomination for Honorary Alderman**

## Mr John Roy Bullock (Roy) MBE

Mr John Roy Bullock was elected to the County Council in May 1997 as the Conservative Member for Tunbridge Wells Central. He went on to represent Tunbridge Wells North. He was a Management Consultant and has experience as a Marine Engineer, Electricity Generation Engineer and a Company Director. He was Leader of Tunbridge Wells Borough Council 2007-12 and a School Governor. He has served on the Corporate Policy Overview Committee, Electoral Boundary & Review Committee, Environment Highways & Waste Policy Overview Committee, Regeneration & Economic Development Policy Overview Committee, Education & Libraries Committee, Strategic Planning Committee, Policy & Resources Committee (Vice Chairman), Property Sub-Committee, Tunbridge Wells Local Board and a supporter of the High Weald Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.

